top of page
Search

So Much Unknown In Goat World

Updated: Sep 18, 2020

I've always had baby goats that got their food and water solely from nursing or bottles. .. Until now! About an hour after Darla had her two babies on the 26th of April, her son "Link" went over to her molasses water pail and started slurping away. I just stood there dumbfounded at this newborn (like just born and just started walking!) Actually drinking from a pail like an adult. WHAT DID I JUST SEE!? I used to wonder how wild goats managed to keep their babies hydrated having less, but more fatty milk. Fed? Answer obvious, but watered has always boggled my mind. Now I know! Domestic goats don't drink from puddles or pails until 6-8 weeks because this ability has clearly been bred out. They SHOULD be able to do this, but don't because we bred them in a way that that link (what a fitting name for the new born boy who pointed this out to me. ) doesn't develop until later in life. I guess you could say the development of breeds has sped up physical growth, but slowed mental growth in many areas. (Who knows how many??) So The last week of April, I placed a shorter pail in with the goats and watched to see if more babies will drink that way. 5 out of 8 did!


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Horns

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page